Hurricane Katrina Approaches

Friday, August 26, 2005
So today it looks like a major hurricane is headed our way. We are trying to decide if we should evacuate or not. We have made reservations in Bessemer with Wes’ family. I was all prepared to leave no questions asked. Of course it would be foolish for us to stay here with a 3 year old and a 21 month old during a major hurricane. Half way through the day I realized someting “I AM ONLY A WEEK AWAY FROM MY DUE DATE!!” I really just want to have this baby here in Fairhope with my doctor. Wes told me to call the doctor and ask him what I should do. I told Wes that he was probably going to tell me that I could come in and be induced. Then we would be evacuating with 2 toddlers and a newborn. This is not my idea of fun. A newborn needs to eat constantly and doesn’t really like to ride in a car seat. The other options are to evacuate and pack newborn clothes and diapers, etc. in the event I have the baby wherever we are. I don’t really want to have the baby anywhere else. I just want to be here with my doctor. What if I go into labor in the car and we are in the middle of nowhere with a po’ dunk hospital or there isn’t a hospital around and I have the baby on the side of the road. That doesn’t sound appealing. The only other option is to stay home. But we could run the risk that I go into labor and it is too dangerous for us to get to the hospital and too dangerous for the ambulance to get to us. That means that is would be Wes and I with the toddlers likely without electricity. I thought that option sounded the best to me. Wes wasn’t too crazy about delivering the baby in the dark with two toddlers running around getting into stuff. I suppose that would be mild mayhem. None of my options look appealing.
Leave a Reply

