What We Have Been Up To

You have to read to the very end to find out the most exciting part of the last two weeks.

We had a very busy March and April. So the last two weeks I have been trying to get my life back in order. My first goal was to do the laundry. They laundry monster was terrible. We had laundry everywhere. So my solution was to involve the kids. I sent them on a mission to collect the dirty laundry and dump it on the living room floor. This went over great. They thought it was a blast. While I sorted it they jumped all over my pile and spread it out for me. It kept them happy!! So then we set out to wash it and dry it. The clean laundry was piled on the sofa to await folding. (There were still 4 loads to be washed at this photo). Notice Little Bit wasted no time finding clothes to change into.

And what do you do with kids who start fighting because Mom is busy folding these clothes. You put them to work.

My kids beg me to clean the windows. They each have their own little spray bottle and everyone gets their own rag. They think this is great fun. And I get my windows, window sills and foyer floor cleaned. And they don’t fight while doing this. Definitely a secret weapon in the Mom toolbox.

At the end of April, I took my Sunday School girls on a camping trip. Big Girl was able to go with me. We had a lot of fun. As a part of this week’s tasks we had to air the tent out and make sure it was dry. At the very end of our trip it started to rain on and off on us. My kids have a way of turning everything into fun. The tent in the backyard lent itself to a day full of fun.

We ended the week with my Big Girl’s birthday. She turned 6 on Saturday. She is getting so big. The last 6 years have flown by. It’s been an adventurous ride and it is only just beginning. I look forward to the many years ahead.

So the big news…. On Big Girl’s birthday we found out WE ARE EXPECTING!!! We will have another Price to add to the family in January. The kids had some interesting responses. Big Girl has asked for 2 or 3 more sisters/brothers So her response to our announcement surprised me. “Again?” She said with a happy surprise. Big Brother asked if the baby could sleep in his room. He has been anxiously waiting to share his room since I was expecting the Litle Man. Little Bit wanted to know if she could go back into my tummy. We explained that wasn’t possible.

With that news, this week has been filled with just trying to keep up. My nausea didn’t take long before it started. Which means a complete feeling of blah!!! I have started my trusty Unisom, (which if taken at night alleviates the nausea the next day). I just have to get the dose right.

I know all of you have lots of questions. Probably.. Was this planned? Well, not exactly by us. God has a plan. I may not understand it all the time. However, He will provide everything we need, physically, spiritually and emotionally. Yes we will have 5 kids under 7. It is only by the grace of God that I get through these days with my sanity in tack (4 kids in 5 years). So I will be just fine. I am focused on getting through today. I will worry about tomorrow, tomorrow. I ask God each day to give me the strength that I need for the day and to tell me what is important to accomplish for the day. Besides taking care of the kids needs I can really only accomplish about 1-2 additional tasks a day. I can’t imagine one stage in life that will be boring for us. It’s going to be quite an adventure.

3 thoughts on “What We Have Been Up To

  1. Dee says:

    I am so excited for you. I know that with God’s grace and strength you are going to be a great mom to all 5 of your kids.
    I am also encouraged about school. It has given me some ideas on how to engage my 2 in learning.

    I wish I lived closer so I could help you more during this pregnancy. When I come for the party I’ll clean your bathrooms. 🙂

    Love you!

  2. That’s so exciting! I think a houseful is just too much fun — so much fun, nobody notices the mess (well. except mama.). They won’t remember it!

    Congrats to you both and the kids, too!

Leave a Reply

