Our Adventure with LearningRx

At the end of last school year I took the Little Gymnast and Karate Boy for cognitive skills testing at LearningRx. The Little Gymnast has always struggled to learn, from learning her colors and shapes, letter sounds and math concepts to name a few. When she was 7, I started researching her symptoms and concluded that she likely had Auditory Processing Disorder, Dyslexia and Dyscalculia. I switched my curriculum to better teach to her and she started making progress. However, progress was slow and painfully slow for both of us. At the end of last school year she was still at a first grade instructional level I, and by age she was to be finishing up third grade. While sitting in the doctor’s waiting room I stumbled on LearningRx material. I was so encouraged by what I read that I called when I got home to get the oldest two tested.

Karate Boy has been diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome, ADHD and Oppositional Defiance Disorder. He was also exhibiting some signs of dyslexia and was struggling to make progress with his reading.

The test results revealed that my Little Gymnast’s brain was functioning 2 – 2.5 years below her age. The test revealed that I wasn’t imagining her difficulties, it confirmed all her daily struggles. Karate Boy’s results were mixed with some areas where he was functioning above and a few areas that were about a year behind. Karate Boy was recommended for their ThinkRx, 12 week program and the Little Gymnast was recommended for ThinkRx and ReadRx, a 24 week program.

We started their partner program about a month later. They would both receive one-on-one training for an hour 3 times per week. I would train them at home 3 days a week for 20 minutes and they would work on a computer program 6 days a week for 30 minutes. It was a lot of hard work but we started seeing improvements in about 2 weeks. The Little Gymnast made the most improvements. I will be following up with another post just on that.

At first the kids were excited about going to the center but after a few weeks they were both tired from the hard work. The Little Gymnast struggled to perform some of the simplest exercises and was becoming frustrated. They both fought me to go. Karate Boy refused to do his home training and his computer program. For every hour of fighting we managed to get in about 5 minutes of training. He was great at the center once he decided to train. The Little Gymnast was more compliant but would often break down at home telling me that it was just too hard.

The kids were perfectly matched to trainers. The trainers had quite opposite personalities but each was able to give the kids just what they needed to succeed. If the trainers had been flipped neither of the kids would have performed so well.

I’ll be posting our results soon.

One thought on “Our Adventure with LearningRx

Leave a Reply

